Meet the 2020 Writers

Ticket sales open Wednesday, May 27, 2020 at 8 a.m. Please note: the website content for the 2020 Festival will be updated in April.


Writers confirmed to date

Wayne Arthurson

Wayne Arthurson is of Cree and French Canadian descent and the author of five novels including the Leo Desroches crime series. His latest book, The Red Chesterfield, is “part crime novel, part fable, part family drama … Arthurson spins a tale with dry wit and a keen descriptive eye. The Red Chesterfield is a major achievement by an important voice.” (Crime fiction writer Sam Wiebe)

Jillian Christmas

Spoken word artist Jillian Christmas is well known among Sunshine Coast youth through her work in schools and libraries and with LGBTQ+ youth. Her first collection of poetry, The Gospel of Breaking, confirms what followers have long known: there is magic in her words. Jillian Christmas will curate, host and participate in the poetry event.

Michael Christie

Michael Christie is the author of three books: The Beggar’s Garden; If I Fall, If I Die; and Greenwood (published in the fall of 2019). All were longlisted for the Scotiabank Giller Prize. “This book is why we read books. Why we need books. Wildly inventive, structurally elegant, deeply felt, and so very wise.” (Author Alexander McLeod – about Greenwood)

Christa Couture

Christa Couture is an award-winning performing and recording artist, nonfiction writer, and broadcaster. She is also proudly Indigenous (mixed Cree and Scandinavian), queer, disabled, and a mom. Her debut nonfiction book, How to Lose Everything, will be published in the fall of 2020.

Ivan Coyote

Ivan Coyote is an internationally-celebrated award-winning storyteller and author of 12 books.  Their latest book “Rebent Sinner is the work of an accomplished artist whose plain truths about their experience will astound readers with their utter, breathtaking humanity”. (Arsenal Pulp Press) Ivan Coyote will open the Festival on Thursday evening, August 13.

Cherie Dimaline

Cherie Dimaline, a member of the Georgian Bay Metis Community, is the author of five books. The Marrow Thieves won the Governor General’s Award and has been on the national bestseller list for over two years. Her latest novel, Empire of the Wild,  is another bestseller and was named Indigo’s Best Book of 2019.

Farzana Doctor

Farzana Doctor is an activist, social worker, psychotherapist, and author of three novels. Her fourth, Seven, will be published in August, just in time for the 2020 Festival. CBC Books recently  included Farzana Doctor in their list of “100 Writers in Canada You Need to Know Now.”

Harold R. Johnson

Harold R. Johnson is the author of five works of fiction and four works of nonfiction, including his latest book Peace and Good Order: The Case for Indigenous Justice in Canada. Johnson is a Harvard-educated former Crown Prosecutor who lives on his family’s trapline in northern Saskatchewan.

Sarah Leavitt

Sarah Leavitt has earned international acclaim as a writer and cartoonist. Tangles: A story about Alzheimer’s, my mother, and me, was the first work of graphic literature to be a finalist for the Writers’ Trust Nonfiction Prize. Agnes, Murderess was inspired by the legend of Agnes McVee, a serial killer in the Cariboo region of BC in the late nineteenth century.

Michael Melgaard

Michael Melgaard’s first collection of short fiction, Pallbearing, has just been published by House of Anansi Press. His fiction, reviews and articles have appeared in the National Post and a number of literary journals and periodicals. Michael Melgaard is one of the 2020 New Voices.

Alix Ohlin

Alix Ohlin is the author of novels and short stories. Her sixth and most recent book, Dual Citizens, was shortlisted for the 2019 Scotiabank Giller Prize. Her work has also been published in The New YorkerTin House, and Best American Short Stories.  Ohlin is the Chair of the Creative Writing Program at UBC.

Bill Richardson

Bill Richardson is an author and radio broadcaster who splits his time between rural Manitoba and Vancouver’s West End, the setting for his latest book. “Sometimes twisted, sometimes tender, I Saw Three Ships will speak to all who have ever been stuck spinning their wheels at the corner of Heathen and Holy.” (Talonbooks)

Paul Seesequasis

Paul Seesequasis is a nîpisîhkopâwiyiniw (Willow Cree) writer, journalist, and cultural advocate who curates the Indigenous Archival Photo Project. His book, Blanket Toss Under the Midnight Sun, is “a wonderful collection of found photographs and recovered histories that link us to a past as old as the land and as precious as breath.” (Thomas King)

Bindu Suresh

Bindu Suresh is a pediatrician and former journalist. She studied Literature at Columbia University and Medicine at McGill University. Her book, 26 Knots, is “a crackling debut novel that starts with a fire and never stops smouldering” (CBC Books) Bindu Suresh is one of the 2020 New Voices.

Iona Whishaw

Iona Whishaw is a former teacher and principal whose Lane Winslow mystery series was inspired by her mother who served as a spy during WWII. The seventh book in the series, A Match Made for Murder, will be published in the spring of 2020.

The Fugitives

The Fugitives, led by Adrian Glynn and Brendan McLeod, are a folk ensemble that has toured the world and “earned a reputation for unforgettable live shows, brimming with complex harmonies, infectious storytelling and top-notch musicianship.” We are thrilled that The Fugitives will close the Festival on Sunday evening, August 16.